Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Mark 9:37

In this verse, Jesus is teaching a lesson to his disciples. In doing so,  Jesus differentiates himself from their god. This seems to happen fairly often in the New Testament of the Christian bible. For this reason, even when I was a Christian, I tended to think of the three members of the Trinity as three separate beings. When I heard people say things such as, “God is one,” I tended to view it more as a metaphorical “one” than a literal “one.” I viewed this oneness of the trinity  as analogous to how marriage is described in the bible. In the Christian bible, it explains that a husband and wife becoming one flesh (Mark 10:08). Since  a man and woman remain two separate beings even after they get married, saying that a married couple is one flesh seems to be a metaphorical phrasing. The husband and wife become united figuratively, not literally. Therefore, I viewed the Trinity as a figurative union, not a literal one as well. I never really viewed Christianity as a true monotheistic religion the way that Judaism and Islam are. However, I know that many Christians would disagree.

I realize that not all Christians view the members of the Trinity as three separate beings. Some Christians really believe that there are not three distinct members of the Trinity but that there really is just one god. This is not a concept I could never really wrap my head around. However, I would really like to understand others’ take on this topic. I am curious how different people conceptualize the Trinity.

Discuss: 

Christians – Do you believe in the Trinity? What does the Trinity mean to you? Do you see God the Father, the Holy Ghost, and Jesus as separate beings?

(If you are a former Christian, please feel free to include what you used to think about the Trinity.)

Please add your thoughts about the Trinity in the comments section below. 

Mark 9:37 “Whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me, and whoever welcomes me welcomes not me but the one who sent me.”

Harper Bibles. NRSV Bible with the Apocrypha (Kindle Locations 68083-68084). HarperCollins. Kindle Edition.

Why I am Reading the New Testament

For more information about Skeptic Mom, see the About section at the top of the page.

Be sure to stop by the Skeptic Mom guestbook to say “Hello” or to let me know what you think of this site.

Find Skeptic Mom on Facebook

Follow Skeptic Mom on Twitter

