Tags

, , , , , ,

Mark 2:5

This verse describes a time when Jesus told a man that his sins were forgiven. At this point in the story, Jesus had not yet been crucified. It was always my understanding that the death of Jesus was supposed to be required for our sins to be forgiven. I was always taught that his death paid the wages for our sins. That brings me to my questions:

(1) Since there was no sacrifice, not even of an animal, how did Jesus forgive this man of his sins?

(2) If Jesus has the power to forgive sins without a sacrifice, why does he need to be crucified?

I would love to hear from you. What do you think of this verse? If you are a Christian, how might you answer these questions?

Mark 2:5 When Jesus saw their faith, he said to the paralytic, “Son, your sins are forgiven.”

Harper Bibles (2011-11-22). NRSV Bible with the Apocrypha (Kindle Locations 67739-67740). HarperCollins. Kindle Edition.

Why I am Reading the New Testament

For more information about Skeptic Mom, see the About section at the top of the page.

Be sure to stop by the Skeptic Mom guestbook to say “Hello” or to let me know what you think of this site.

Find Skeptic Mom on Facebook

Follow Skeptic Mom on Twitter

 

