Tags

, , , , , , ,

Matthew 27:46

In this verse, Jesus calls out from the cross asking the god of the Bible why he has forsaken him. He asks “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” I remember being taught in church that this question was Jesus’ last words before he died. To me, it always seemed strange that they empathized this. I think they were trying to show that Jesus suffered greatly on the cross. However, I see some problems reconciling this verse with the Christian narrative that I was taught. First, it seems to show that death on a cross was not the outcome that Jesus expected. I used to wonder if Jesus was unaware of God’s plan for him to be sacrificed. If so, it certainly declares the narrative that Jesus willingly sacrificed his own life to take on the sins of the world false. It also takes away form the narrative that Jesus and God are the same people.

What are your thoughts on this verse?

46 And about three o’clock Jesus cried with a loud voice, “Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?” that is, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

Harper Bibles (2011-11-22). NRSV Bible with the Apocrypha (Kindle Locations 67348-67349). HarperCollins. Kindle Edition.

Why I am Reading the New Testament

For more information about Skeptic Mom, see the About section at the top of the page.

Be sure to stop by the Skeptic Mom guestbook to say, “Hello” or to let me know what you think of this site.

Find Skeptic Mom on Facebook

Follow Skeptic Mom on Twitter

