Tags

, , , , , ,

Matthew 10:5-8

I was a surprised when I read that Jesus had given his 12 disciples the power to heal the sick and raise the dead. I knew Jesus was supposed to have this power, but I don’t ever remember being taught that the disciples had this power as well. I was also surprised to hear that they they were told heal the sick and raise the dead in the Jewish lands, but nowhere among the Gentiles or Samaritans.

This is one of the passages in the Bible that make me wonder why more Christians do not question the veracity of the Bible. It seems to me that if there really were 13 people (Jesus plus his 12 Disciples) going around healing every type of sickness and raising the dead, there would be a great number of people from other lands coming to them for help. Among those seeking help, I would expect that rich and powerful people would offer to pay them to heal or bring back their relatives from death. I would expect that all of this activity would have been recorded in both Jewish and non-Jewish sources and we would know much more about these purported miracles.

Another thing I wondered about this passage was why Jesus instructed his disciples to only visit the Jewish lands. Why was it that only the Jews deserved to be healed and raised from the dead? Why didn’t Jesus want Gentiles or Samaritans to be healed and brought back from the dead?

I would love to have a discussion about this passage. I would love to hear from both Christians and non-Christians. Let me know your thoughts regarding this passage by leaving a comment.

If you prefer, you can comment on Facebook or Twitter.

Matthew 10:5 These twelve Jesus sent out with the following instructions: “Go nowhere among the Gentiles, and enter no town of the Samaritans, 6 but go rather to the lost sheep of the house of Israel. 7 As you go, proclaim the good news, ‘The kingdom of heaven has come near.’ 8 Cure the sick, raise the dead, cleanse the lepers, cast out demons.

Harper Bibles (2011-11-22). NRSV Bible with the Apocrypha(Kindle Locations 66449-66452). HarperCollins. Kindle Edition.

Why I am Reading the New Testament

For more information about Skeptic Mom, see the About section at the top of the page.

Find Skeptic Mom on Facebook

Follow Skeptic Mom on Twitter

